WHO THE FUCK ARE Y’ALL – THE BEST OF 2010 SO FAR MIXTAPE

by Katherine


Alright my lovers? 2010 has been a mind-blowing year for music, in my humble opinion. And we’re only half-way through, ye gads! So here’s my ultra-exclusive ‘Best Of 2010′ So Far’ mixtape for you all, because I love you all and want to marry you in a hippy-dippy communal wedding ceremony.

I’ll try and get a mediafire link to all these tracks for y’all in the next couple of days, in the meantime, the mp3s of all these tracks are probably sourceable on hypemachine or beemp3 or other sites of dubious legality. ENJOY.

By the by, this is what I sound like when I slip out of ‘imma serious writer’ mode. I know. I’m sorry.  But, here we go…

1. Drake – Over

 

 If this track doesn’t make you want to punch the air and pour champagne all over yourself then you are officially not my friend. NOPE. NOT MY FRIEND, AND GET OUT OF MY KITCHEN.

2. Anais Mitchell – Way Down Hadestown

The star-studded ‘Hadestown’ cast at their finest, this track is pretty much crying out to be tap-danced to. I want to live in Hadestown with Justin Vernon. Can somebody arrange this? THANK YOU.

 3. Joanna Newsom – Good Intentions Paving Company

This is one of the most joyful things my ears have ever experienced. It’s so so so joyful. I can’t even describe it. And again, very tap danceable. I see a pattern.

4. Gorillaz – Stylo

Bobby Womack. THE VOICE. That is all.

5. Beach House – Norway

 This is like the dictionary definition of ‘dreamy’. In fact, I demand that it is made the dictionary defintion of ‘dreamy’. Minions, make that happen.

6. Beyoncé – Ego

This is fucking rad. But whatever you do don’t download the Kanye West remix. IT’S HORRENDOUS. KANYE I WILL KILL YOU FOR RUINING SUCH A KICK-ASS TRACK. Beyoncé is my girl.

 7. The High Wire – Odds & Evens

 This is lovely. It’s really soft and floaty yet anthemic at the same time. IT’S NAICE IS WHAT I’M TRYING TO SAY.

 8. Japandroids – Younger Us

 This is like the aural equivilant of an air-punch. It makes me feel like an actual teenager for once. Usually i’m in the mindset of a fifty year old academic called Edith, so this is rare. Now, i’m off to crochet a toilet roll holder and grouch about immigrants. 

 9. Los Campesinos! – The Sea is a Good Place…

 I don’t like the lyrics on this track (They remind me of one of those crappy sob story novels you find stacked up in tescos with names like ‘TRAPPED IN A NIGHMARE’ ‘FORGOTTEN CHILD’ ‘WHY DIDN’T MY MOTHER LOVE ME NOW I CAN’T STOP TAKING DRUGS’ ‘DON’T HURT ME, DADDY’ etc.) But whatta chorus. It sounds all windswept and lost. Lovely lovely.

10. Madvillain – Papermill

Allll dayyyy! Madvillain must be the only rapper to have ever rapped about being celibate and forrest gump. And that’s why he is amazing.

 11. Sleigh Bells – Tell Em

 You can hear the MIA influence in this. It sounds like a BAZILLION fireworks going off at once. Or something. I don’t think Sleigh Bells are a particularly groundbreaking band, but this is fun.

12. Nina Nastasia – Cry Cry Baby

You know i’m your true love… I love Nina. And the strings on this are beyoootiful. Mmm hmmm.

13. Love is All – Bigger Bolder

BIGGER BOLDER, MY LOVE FOR YOUUUU. Why is this so good. Why are the swedes so good at everything. This is like Karin from The Knife doing indie-pop.

14. Robyn – Dancing On My Own

 This song is so beautiful and heartbroken. Robyn is the only lady who can create such a choon from so much heartbreak. And I love how she’s her own person – in a world where so many popstars have gimmicks, she’s so traditional and oldschool. I just kinda love Robyn, mmmkay?

15. The Roots – Right On ft. Joanna Newsom

 BABY NEWSOM IN A HIP-HOP RECORD. Well I nevaar. This works surprisingly well. Really well, in fact. And yknow. The Roots are total legends. They can do no wrong. And Newsom is sounding even more witchay and spookay than usual here.

16. Two Door Cinema Club – Undercover Martyn (Passion Pit Remix)

This is all glitchy and lovely. Passion Pit do the best remixes. They basically vomit glitter all over the tracks. And NORTHERN IRELAND RE-PRE-SENT.

17. Janelle Monae – Tightrope ft. Big Boi

OH MAH GAWD. Why is this so good. I can’t even describe this. It’s just that good. If I could dance without falling over this is what i’d dance to. Janelle is such a babe.

 18. Stars – Fixed

 Hello Amy Millan. Lovely to have you back. This is the kind of track that plays in films where the lovelorn male lead, possibly Zach Braff, running through an airport to find their LOST LURVE (possibly Zooey Deschanel) and to tell them not to marry their swedish body-builder boyfriend, Bjorn, FOR IT IS ME YOU TRULY LOVE. AND THEN THEY KISS AND IT’S ALL FUCKING LOVELY.

HONORARY MENTIONS:

  • Everything else on Joanna Newsom’s ‘Have One On Me’
  •  Erykah Badu – 20 Feet Tall
  • MGMT – Brian Eno
  • Kate Nash – Don’t You Want To Share The Guilt?
  • Robyn – ‘Fembot’ and ‘Dancehall Queen’
  • Wait For Me, Epic Pt I, Our Lady of The Underground, Wedding Song and If It’s True from Anais Mitchell’s ‘Hadestown’
  • ‘Cigarettes In The Theatre’ and ‘Something Good Can Work’ from Two Door Cinema Club’s ‘Tourist History’.
  • Tegan and Sara – Hell & Alligator
  •  Bombay Bicycle Club – How Are We
  • Drake – Fireworks ft Alicia Keyes
  • Lady Gaga – Alejandro and Telephone
  • Surfer Blood – Catholic Pagans
